• Home
  • Heritage Gallery
  • Booktique
  • News & Events
  • History Matters
    • About the Book
    • About the Author
  • Burns Lake Heritage Walking Tour
    • Starting the Heritage Walking Tour
    • The Lakes District Museum
    • Bucket of Blood
    • Old Courthouse
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • St. John's Heritage Church
    • Pioneer Park
    • Omineca Cafe
    • Tweedsmuir Hotel
    • Omineca Hotel
    • Burns Lake's First Residents
    • The Beacon Theatre
    • Provincial Police Building
    • Burns Lake's Second Hospital
  • Blog
  • Contact
  • Doris Allin
  • Home
  • Heritage Gallery
  • Booktique
  • News & Events
  • History Matters
    • About the Book
    • About the Author
  • Burns Lake Heritage Walking Tour
    • Starting the Heritage Walking Tour
    • The Lakes District Museum
    • Bucket of Blood
    • Old Courthouse
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • St. John's Heritage Church
    • Pioneer Park
    • Omineca Cafe
    • Tweedsmuir Hotel
    • Omineca Hotel
    • Burns Lake's First Residents
    • The Beacon Theatre
    • Provincial Police Building
    • Burns Lake's Second Hospital
  • Blog
  • Contact
  • Doris Allin
Search by typing & pressing enter

YOUR CART

Omineca Hotel

Located across Highway 16 from the Royal Bank, the Cheslatta Hotel was built by Barney Mulvany shortly after he first set his tents up on the present site of the village. Mulvany sold the structure to George McKenzie, who, in turn, sold it to newcomer Andy Ruddy. Ruddy renamed the hotel the "Omineca" after his long-time friend and business partner, “Omineca” Ed Sullivan.

Ruddy added a dance hall to the building and installed the town’s first generating plant in 1923 specifically to provide the hotel with electricity. The structure was a focal point for civic affairs. When the Burns Lake Citizens Association formed in October 1921, its members met in the Omineca Hotel. The first village council meeting took place there on December 10, 1923, and it served as an infirmary when the local hospital reached capacity.

Ruddy sold the Omineca Hotel to Harry Little in 1928. It remained an integral part of Burns Lake’s downtown core until February 20, 1947, when it caught fire. The town’s fire brigade tried to save the grand old structure, but their efforts were in vain. It burned to the ground and was not rebuilt.
Around 1930
Building the new addition
March 20, 1947
BACK
NEXT
Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.