• Home
  • Heritage Gallery
  • Booktique
  • News & Events
  • History Matters
    • About the Book
    • About the Author
  • Burns Lake Heritage Walking Tour
    • Starting the Heritage Walking Tour
    • The Lakes District Museum
    • Bucket of Blood
    • Old Courthouse
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • St. John's Heritage Church
    • Pioneer Park
    • Omineca Cafe
    • Tweedsmuir Hotel
    • Omineca Hotel
    • Burns Lake's First Residents
    • The Beacon Theatre
    • Provincial Police Building
    • Burns Lake's Second Hospital
  • Blog
  • Contact
  • Doris Allin
  • Home
  • Heritage Gallery
  • Booktique
  • News & Events
  • History Matters
    • About the Book
    • About the Author
  • Burns Lake Heritage Walking Tour
    • Starting the Heritage Walking Tour
    • The Lakes District Museum
    • Bucket of Blood
    • Old Courthouse
    • Royal Bank of Canada
    • St. John's Heritage Church
    • Pioneer Park
    • Omineca Cafe
    • Tweedsmuir Hotel
    • Omineca Hotel
    • Burns Lake's First Residents
    • The Beacon Theatre
    • Provincial Police Building
    • Burns Lake's Second Hospital
  • Blog
  • Contact
  • Doris Allin
Search by typing & pressing enter

YOUR CART

St. John's Heritage Church

Located at 125 First Avenue in Burns Lake, St. John’s Heritage Church was the third Anglican house of worship built in the village. The first was a cabin. By the time Rev. J. H. Kerr came to town in 1923, the cabin had been replaced by the Anglican Hall, a wood-frame structure located on the site of the present church. Kerr and his wife occupied living quarters at one end of the building.

n the late 1920s, Rev. Kerr and Forestdale resident Baynard B. Keddy began campaigning for a new church. Keddy already had experience in such matters, having been instrumental in establishing a church in Forestdale in 1920. By July 12, 1928, work was well underway. Excavation for the structure’s basement was complete by mid-August, when forms and footings for the foundation were also under construction. By November 29, the building’s wood frame had already taken shape.

​Measuring forty-five by twenty feet, the new (though not finished) church opened to the public on August 25, 1929. Anglican Bishop G. A. Rix, assisted by Kerr and Sweetnam, performed the consecration before a large and appreciative crowd. Damaged but not destroyed by the fire that swept through Burns Lake’s downtown core on May 11, 1931, the church remained in service for more than sixty years before being sold, along with the church manse, to the municipality. Over the last nine decades, it has seen countless christenings, weddings, and funerals; for a time, it even served as a high school classroom. Designated a municipal heritage building in 2005, the church has been refurbished and is now a multi-use space.
St. John's Anglican Church with the Manse in the background. 1934
Tourism Promotion in front of St. John's, 1968
BACK
NEXT
Powered by Create your own unique website with customizable templates.